Myopia

MyopiaI’ve been to the eye doctor one time in my life.  A few years ago, I noticed that I was growing more and more nearsighted.  I could see things up close, but at a distance, it got a little fuzzy.  I went to renew my driver’s license and had a hard time reading the bottom line.  Taking the advice of the examiner, I scheduled an appointment with the eye doctor.

The day for my appointment came, so I readied myself for the possibility of wearing glasses or contacts for the rest of my life and went to the eye doctor.  Anything remotely resembling fun stopped when my name was called and I was taken back.  There, I was subjected to a variety of tortu…I mean tests.  I even got to experience the joy of having my eyes dilated.  After having my eyes dilated, the doctor had me wear a pair of hard glass contacts while looking through the refractor, trying to focus – all in an attempt to figure out the cause of my nearsightedness.  Just to be clear, between the dilated pupils and the hard glass lenses in my eyes, there was NOTHING in focus – near, far, in between.  I might as well have been blind.  Needless to say, I left the eye doctor that day with no diagnosis and a nothing but a pair of cheap sunglasses to reward me for my efforts.

We all can agree that we want to make sure our physical sight is as good as possible.  When it’s not, we go to great lengths with corrective lenses or corrective surgeries. But how much concern do we place on our spiritual sight?  If we’re honest, we all probably wrestle with a little nearsightedness from time to time.  How do you know if you’re struggling with spiritual myopia?  Peter says that if we are not growing in our walk with Christ, that we are likely struggling with spiritual myopia.  He says in 2 Peter 1:8 that certain characteristics should be growing in us – things like goodness, knowledge, self-control, endurance, brotherly love, and agape love.  If you’re not growing in these things as you walk with Christ, then your spiritual vision is out of whack and you’ve lost sight of what it means to be a Christian, to have your sins forgiven.

What if our “sight” is not quite up to par?  My advice is to be aggressive to correct it, just as if it were your physical sight.  If you’re not growing in Christ, you’ve got to get to the bottom of it, or you’re going to miss some of the great things that God wants to show you, simply because your blindness has gotten the best of you.  First, you had better make sure that you are a Christian.  Don’t be so blind that you are afraid to ask that question.  Pride has kept many churchgoers from becoming Christians.    Secondly, get to the bottom of your stagnant growth.  Are there competing priorities?  Are there sin issues that you refuse to deal with?  Is there repentance that needs to happen?  Finally, make sure that the right doctor is treating you.  Many people supplement good things for the best thing.  I am asked very frequently about various devotional books – and while they can be helpful – they are certainly no substitute to simply reading the text of Scripture.  Our primary source of spiritual growth is not the opinions of others, but the text of God’s perfect word.  If you don’t understand it, start reading it chronologically and much of what has been a mystery to you before will become perfectly clear as you work through the story of God’s word.  If you do this, you might find your vision clearing up after all.

Time to open your eyes,

Pastor Brian

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Reflections

Leave a Reply

