The Connection

The very first time I ever flew out of the country was a few years ago.  I was going to Jamaica with a group of 15 to take a class at the Seminary in Kingston.  We met at the prearranged time in Birmingham to ride together to Atlanta to catch our flight.  As we were preparing to go, Delta called and said that they had canceled our direct flight and were rerouting us through Ft. Lauderdale.  Here’s the catch – the flight to Ft. Lauderdale was leaving an hour earlier.  In other words, we had to hustle from Birmingham to Atlanta in order to make our flight.

To complicate things, the new tickets we were assigned were one-way and they appeared to be paid for with cash.  This meant we got the “extra special” security screening!  When we got to the airport, I will never forget what our professor told us, “Get as far as you can!”  So, after making through security, and getting on our flight with ten minutes to spare, we were able to get to Ft. Lauderdale and make our connection – barely.

You don’t realize how important a connection is until you’re about to miss one.  I was thinking about all of the “connections” I have made in my life.  Then there was the connection I made when I realized my sinful condition and my need for a Savior.  I thought about the connection I made in a little Baptist Church in Cleveland, Tennessee when I surrendered my life to ministry.  Of course, how could I ever forget about the connection I made with Heather Kitchens back in April of 2000?  Of course, she has a new last name now, ask me about it someday and I might tell you the story.  I think about the connection I made with the chairman of the pastorsearch team at Northside Baptist Church.  All of these and more were very important connections in my life that have brought me to where I am today.

All of these connections (and lots more) have brought me to where I am today.  And they all have something very much in common – there is a very real connection between faith and life.  This is a connection that we must not miss.  Many times it is our tendency to segment our lives.  We have our work segment, our familysegment, our church segment, and we do our very best to keep them nice and neatly compartmentalized.  We try not to blur the edges.  The truth of the matter is that a correct Christian worldview means that the edges are very much blurred.  Our faith should connect with every part of our life, not just the churchy parts.  For a Christian to keep his faith apart from the other aspects of life is as strange as a bird pretending to not have feathers.

One of the greatest lessons we can teach our children is the necessity of connecting our faith with everyday life.  When that connection is made, then it is much easier to see the other connections that God may be putting in our pathway to help us fulfill His desires for our life. That is the message behind VBS this year.  Throughout the next week, we will be helping children make this all too important connection.

The only way we can ensure this connection ismade is through careful consideration of the Word of God.  In Romans 10:17, Paul wrote, “Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the Word of God.”  Faith is not some generic spiritual emotion; it is a specific, life-changing response to Christ based on that which is revealed to us in the Scriptures.  Faith should transform our worldview and should quickly blur the edges of our segmented existence.  What a treat to be able to share this connection as followers of Christ.

 

In Christ,

Pastor Brian

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Reflections

Leave a Reply

