Rainy Days and Sundays

I remember being tortured as a child by having to listen to my dad’s music while in the car.  It was terrible.  He didn’t like the cool stuff, he liked what they called the “easy listening” station.  If my memory serves me, it was 92.3 in Chattanooga.  Boy did they ever play the snoozers.  In fact, I am having a hard time keeping my eyes open as I think about it.

There was one song in particular that I remember hearing. I believe that the song had  the physical side effects of narcolepsy and nausea.  You would just pray that you fell asleep before you tossed your lunch.  It was the Carpenter’s song, Rainy Days and Mondays. Now, if that just happens to be your favorite song, forgive me for being so brutally honest.  If it is your favorite song, we can get you some good counseling to help you with that.  The only thing that made that song worse was if they played the song while it was raining (which they often did). “Rainy days and Mondays (and this song) always get me down.”

I wonder how many of us find ourselves down in the dumps, perhaps emotionally, but especially spiritually.  Perhaps we’re just going through the motions and putting on a semi-pretty face.  Though most of us are too tough to admit it, how many of us men find ourselves in a spiritual lull?  We’ve lost the enthusiasm of serving Jesus.  We’ve lost the sense of purpose and vision.  We’ve gotten distracted by the world.  Maybe we are much like the song, but we feel like “Rainy days and Sundays always get us down.”

If you will allow me to be painfully honest for a moment, I found myself in that very place not too long ago.  I just didn’t feel victorious.  It seemed like I was simply existing with no real purpose or enthusiasm.  I had allowed sin a foothold in my life.  As I began to diagnose my problem, I realized that I had allowed busyness to interfere with my devotional life.  I had allowed passivity to interfere with the practice of my faith.  I was going through the motions without really being moved.

And so it was, about a month ago, I bumped into Jesus.  He was quietly keeping watch over my wayward heart, waiting for me to realize my folly.  When I realized his constant presence, even through the lull, I came under great conviction, cried out to him, and fell into his arms for what has become a season of refreshing for me.

Part of this refreshing has been a return to fruitful bible study and a commitment to read through the Bible in a year.  In doing so, I ran across the most vivid picture of where I was and where I suspect so many others are as well.  It is found in Ezra 10:9.  It takes place during a time of national crisis and an overall spiritual recession.  The people hit rock bottom, and it says that they sat shuddering together because of the seriousness of the matter and the heavy rain.  That image became a very real symbol for how I felt not too long ago, and I suspect many people feel the same way.

Maybe you’re sitting today shuddering because of the spiritual lull in your life and the heavy spiritual rain that falls on you and quenches the Spirit’s fire.  Maybe you feel like the song, “Rainy days and Sundays always get me down.”  Maybe it is a good time for you to take a stroll through the corridors of your heart to find a loving Jesus tending to the place waiting for your return.  As bad as the song is, the Carpenters actually included a line that could easily be sung to Jesus, “Funny but it seems I always wind up here with you, Nice to know somebody loves me, Funny but it seems that it’s the only thing to do, Run and find the one who loves me.”  Rainy days and Sundays do not have to always get us down, but we must always remember to look for the One who loves us supremely!

Thankful for Umbrellas!

Pastor Brian

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Reflections

Leave a Reply

