Looking for Inspiration

I have been known to get on kicks.  I have a set of golf clubs in the basement that do an amazing job of collecting dust. I remember about 8 years ago, I thought I wanted to play golf.  I saved up and bought myself a cheap set of clubs.  I went to the driving range and hit bucket after bucket of golf balls.  I quickly realized that I wasn’t having nearly as much fun as I thought I would.  In fact, I found myself embarrassed at just how pitiful a golfer I was becoming.  I was so pitiful that I never went any further than the driving range.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I pride myself on a pretty mean game of miniature golf.  There’s not a windmill too fast or a hill too steep to interfere with my game.  But my skills on the astroturf simply do not correlate to my abilities on the fairway.  All that remains of my golf “kick” is a set of dusty clubs in the basement which serve as an unfortunate reminder of my lack of inspiration.

There are other kicks that I’ve gotten on that did stick.  A member of our church who will remain anonymous introduced me to a nifty little hobby called fly fishing a few years ago.  I can’t quite explain it, but there was something incredibly peaceful about standing in a pristine mountain stream chasing trout through the currents.  It was a totally different experience when I caught my first fish on a fly from when I hit my first golf ball at the driving range.  It was thrilling.  It was inspiring.

I am learning more and more these days that inspiration changes the dynamic of just about everything.  When Colt McCoy, the quarterback for the Texas Longhorns, was interviewed after losing the national championship game against Alabama, he didn’t complain about his injury.  He didn’t fuss about the officiating.  He didn’t blame the other team.  He gave glory to God even in the loss.  Many in the world of football give God praise when they score the touchdown or make the interception.  Those playing with inspiration give God glory even with the heartbreaking loss.  Inspiration changes things.

I find that this is especially true in the way we pray.  Do you pray with inspiration?  In Daniel 9, we find Daniel involved in an activity that I hope we continue to this day.  He was studying the scriptures.  He even tells us that he was studying the book of Jeremiah.  Without much effort, we can figure out that he was studying either Jeremiah 25 or 29, maybe both.  He wasn’t just reading the bible as a part of “read through the bible in a year” plan.  He was looking for a word from God.  He was looking for inspiration.  Guess what?  He found it.

As he was studying the Scriptures, he began to pray.  His prayer was not a laundry list of felt needs and shallow intercessions.  He was praying with inspiration.  As you read through his prayer, you can certainly feel the connection Daniel found with the Scriptures.

We certainly understand that our faith needs a good dose of inspiration.  For most of us, life tends to get in the way of our inspiration?  Do you ever feel like you’re just going through the motions?  Like there’s no connection between your day to day life and the faith you profess?  Like Daniel, perhaps it is time to reconnect to the Word of God under the guidance of the Holy Spirit.  Maybe it is time to reconnect to the source of our inspiration.

Seeking Inspiration,

Pastor Brian

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Reflections

Leave a Reply

